Stupidfuture: Obscure Sci-Fi Parodies

Those who fear the future are largely afraid to laugh at it….

Snow Removal in a 1950’s Retro Future

Posted by gregchiaramonti on February 10, 2010

Snow Removal in a 1950's Retro Future

Don’t eat the glowing snow… Wow, it’s the middle of the “February Fury” (as the Weather Channel has dubbed it) blizzard part three here in Jersey, and I could really use this Atomic Snow Removal truck from the 1950’s idea of the future. Shame about that whole radiation thing, though, so guess we’re stuck with plows and salt.

I just finished reading the book Your Flying Car Awaits – Robot Butlers, Lunar Vacations, and Other Dead-Wrong Predictions of the Twentieth Century by Paul Milo (thanks, BTW, to Raven for the xmas gift). Really fun to read about the science fact and fiction predictions over the years. Being a science/sci-fi nut since I was pretty much a toddler, I actually remembered a lot of the predictions from the 70s, 80s and 90s – from magazines like Omni, Discover, Wired, etc. And cool to make the connections of the predictions to the sci-fi movies of those same eras.

I was really disturbed by the chapter on Nuclear Fusion and Weather Control, especially the many ideas governments (including the U.S. and Russia) and engineers had for using nuclear detonations for massive construction projects. Suggestions such as creating a new harbor in Alaska, a new Suez canal and huge inland lakes using nuclear blasts were seriously considered during the 1950’s and 60’s. In the end, they decided that these areas would remain too radioactive to actually use. Glad we figured that out before it was too late! Though, I am worried lately reading online about Bill Gates dropping millions into weather control research as a way to combat climate change. Hopefully as a very, very last resort… just testing weather control systems could cause more damage than it’s worth.

If you get a chance, check out Milo’s book. Really makes you think about the predictions that are being made today and how they shape our collective vision and expectations of the future.

– Nigel Matrix

P.S.- The “Atomic Snow Removal” truck idea (however it works) is something I made up, just extrapolating from what I read in Milo’s book about the attitude in the 1950’s that we could use nuclear power to solve pretty much everything.

11 Responses to “Snow Removal in a 1950’s Retro Future”

  1. Awesome comic. I shoveled for about three hours…but I’ve been thinking of white-coated men with coke-bottle glasses and pocket protectors (when a problem comes along, you must whip it….) saying “Gee whiz” ever since I saw it. Strange that radiation used to be seen as a panacea. Though when I think about the classic superhero stories, many of them used radiation as a source of their powers (Fantastic Four, Hulk, Spiderman, Superman–solar radiation from a yellow sun…) Bob and Doug got it right, eventually, though. “Fleshy headed mutant, are you friendly?” “N-no way, eh. R-radiation has made me an enemy of civilization.”

    Strange that Cobra Commander wants nanobots and Bill Gates wants a Weather Dominator…you’d think it would be the other way around….

  2. […] Snow Removal in a 1950's Retro Future « Stupidfuture: Obscure Sci … […]

  3. teeth whitening said

    The most comprehensive info I have found on this subject on the net. Will be back soon to follow up.

    • That’s right. You won’t find any more comprehensive information anywhere on the web for Snow Removal in a 1950’s Retro Future. You have come to the right place. Thank you for understanding our authority in this matter. Please remember that there are no better sources of information for this topic, and that our modest consulting fees yeild dozens of times over their return on investment. Anyone who claims to know more about Snow Removal in a 1950’s Retro Future is sadly mistaken, and will more than likely lead your company down the dark swirl of declining moral, stock prices, and profitability. Remember, we are the authority (well, Greg is, actually.) Please continue to accord us the respect that we deserve.

      • LMFAO… yeah, maybe we can get our Atomic Snow Removal technology together with your Teeth Whitening tech and take DIY dentistry to a whole new level. Have your guys contact our guys, and we’ll like, find other guys with money to help put this all together. I’m thinking an infomercial at around 3am will be our ticket to atomic teeth whitening/snow removal riches!!!

  4. Reading this reminds me of my previous room mate. That guy was one of the smartest persons I know, but he was a little nutty for my tastes though. Anyways I enjoyed reading this, thanks. Will give me something to discuss when I see him.

  5. Short sale in San Diego said

    I was just doing some web browsing on my Google Phone during my spare time at work , and I happened across something I thought was intriguing. It linked over to your site so I hopped over. I can’t really figure out the relevance between your site and the one I came from, but your site good anyway.

  6. Lawn Care said

    With all the doggone snow we have gotten as of late I am stuck inside , fortunately there is the internet, thanks for giving me something to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
